Last Olympiad
Next Olympiad
Past and Future Organizers
Past Presidents and Secretaries
IPhO History
Memorial to Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski (1937-2007)
Problems and Solutions

<< Back Minutes List


Minutes of the Meetings of the International Board during the XXXII International Physics Olympiad in Antalya (Turkey)
June 28 – July 6, 2001

1. The following 65 countries were present at the 32nd International Olympiad: (* - new participants):

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia*, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, The Czechlands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya*,Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, The Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan*, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam, Yugoslavia.
One country was represented by an observer:
As the following two former participants: Greece and Suriname have not participated in three last Olympiads, the next organisers are not obliged to invite them to the competition (According to §2 of the Statutes these countries should be treated as “new” countries).

2. Results of marking the papers by the organisers were presented.

The best score (47,55 points) was achieved by Daniyar Nurgaliev from Russia (Absolute winner of the XXXII IPhO). The second and third were Ali Farahanchi from Iran (46,80 points) and Aliaksandr Yermalitski from Belarus (46,10 points). The following limits for awarding the medals and the honourable mention were established according to the Statutes:

Gold Medal 

42 points

Silver Medal 

36 points

Bronze Medal 

30 points

Honourable Mention

23 points

According to the limits 22 Gold Medals, 40 Silver Medals, 53 Bronze Medals and 47 Honourable Mentions were awarded. The list of the scores of the winners and the students awarded with honourable mentions were distributed to all the delegations.

3. In addition to the regular prizes the following special prizes were awarded:

  • for the best score (Absolute winner)
    • Daniyar Nurgaliev    (Russia)
  • for the best score in the experimental part of the competition:
    • Daniyar Nurgaliev    (Russia)
  • for the best score in the theoretical part of the competition:
    • Ali Farahanchi    (Iran)
  • for the best participant from the host country (Prize of the Turkish Physical Society):
    • Fethi Mubin Ramazanoglu   (Turkey)
  • for the best participant from the countries which joined the IPhO in 2001 (Prize of the President of the IPhOs):
    • Yaser Raza Khan    (Pakistan)

4. The International Board has accepted a new system of awarding the prizes (based on the proposal prepared by Dr. Cyril Isenberg with a change suggested by Dr. Gunter Lind.) The final version of the proposal was disseminated to all the delegations three months prior to the competition. The text in §6 of the Statutes, beginning with “Contestants will be awarded medals  …” and ending with “… To the nearest lower integer.” is replaced with the text:
After preliminary grading (prior to discussion of the grading with the delegation leaders) the organisers establish minima (expressed in points) for Gold Medals, Silver Medals, Bronze Medals and Honourable Mentions according to the following rules:

a) The minimum suggested by the organisers for the Gold Medal should ensure that the Gold Medal would be obtained by 6% of the contestants.

b) The minimum suggested by the organisers for the Silver Medal should ensure that the Gold or Silver Medals would be obtained by 18% of the contestants.

c) The minimum suggested by the organisers for the Bronze Medal should ensure that the Gold, Silver or Bronze Medals would be obtained by 36% of the contestants.

d) The minimum suggested by the organisers for the Honourable Mention should ensure that an Olympic Medal or Honourable Mention would be obtained by 60% of the contestants.

The minima corresponding to the above mentioned percents (6, 18, 36 and 60) should be expressed as integers by rounding off possible fractional numbers to the nearest lower integers (under assumption that the maximum possible score is 50 points). The suggested minima shall be considered carried if one half or more of the number of the Members of the International Board cast their vote in the affirmative.

The above wording has been accepted by qualified majority of votes (108 in favour; necessary minimum: 83).

5. Prof. Stanislav Kozel, the leader of the Russian delegation, suggested a change of the status of the President and Secretary of the IPhOs. Appropriate proposal was disseminated to all the delegation three months prior to the competition. By qualified majority of votes (104 in favour; minimum 83) it was decided to add the following paragraph:
The President and the Secretary of the IPhO should be invited to the Olympiads as the members and heads of the International Board, their relevant expenses should be paid by the organisers of the competition. The President and the Secretary should not be leaders of any national team.
as the second paragraph in §8 of the Statutes.

6. Dr. Hans Jordens and Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski informed the International Board about the 1st Congress of the World Federation of Physics Competitions (Bali, Indonesia, 23rd – 27th July 2002). Dr. Hans Jordens disseminated appropriate materials about the Congress (leaflets and declarations).

7. The Singaporean delegation informed (and disseminated appropriate materials) about the 3rd Asian Physics Olympiad, which will take place in Singapore in the period: 6th – 14th May, 2002.

8. At the closing ceremony Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski (President of the IPhOs), acting on behalf of all the participants, awarded three Gold Olympic Medals to the organisers (Prof. Ibrahim Gunal, Mrs. Cigdem Ercelebi and Mr. Sinan Kaan Yerli) for very good preparation and very good execution of the XXXII International Physics Olympiad and expressed deep thanks to all people involved in organisation and execution of the event.

9. Taking into account very quick increase in the number of participants and great effort of subsequent organisers at preparing and executing the competition, especially great in case of small countries, the International Board has decided that the ICPE Medal for Physics Teaching, awarded to IPhO in 1993, will be deposited in the smallest country that organised the IPhO. At present Iceland is such country. The Medal has been handed over to the Icelandic delegation at the Closing Ceremony.

10. Acting on behalf of the organisers of the next International Physics Olympiad Dr. Triyanta (Indonesia) announced that the XXXIII International Physics Olympiad will be organised in Bandung, Indonesia, on July 14th – 23rd, 2002 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition. A brochure about the Olympiad in Bandung has been disseminated to all the delegations.

Prof. Ibrahim Gunal
General Manager of
the 32nd IPhO

Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski
President of the IPhOs

Prof. Maija Ahtee
Secretary of the IPhOs

Antalya, Turkey 5.7.2001


<< Back Minutes List