Last Olympiad
Next Olympiad
Past and Future Organizers
Past Presidents and Secretaries
IPhO History
Memorial to Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski (1937-2007)
Problems and Solutions

<< Back Minutes List


Minutes of the Meetings of the International Board during the XXXI International Physics Olympiads in Leicester,
July 8th - 16th 2000

1. The following 63 countries were present at the 31st International Physics Olympiad: (* - new participants):

Albania, Argentina, Armenia(*), Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Hercegovina, Brazil(*), Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, The Czechlands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Iran, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Lithuania,, Luxembourg(*), Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Korea, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam, Yugoslavia.
One country was represented by observer:

2. Results of marking the papers by the organisers were presented:

The best score (43.4 points) was achieved by Lu Ying from China (Absolute winner of the XXXI IPhO). The second and third were Christoph Keller from Switzerland (41.1 points) and Xiao Jing from China (40.4 points). The following limits for awarding the medals and the honourable mention were established according to the Statutes:

Gold Medal 

37 points

Silver Medal 

32 points

Bronze Medal 

27 points

Honourable Mention

20 points

According to these limits 15 Gold Medals, 11 Silver Medals, 42 Bronze Medals and 62 Honourable Mentions were awarded. The list of the scores of the winners and the students awarded with honourable mentions was distributed to all the delegations.

3. In addition to the regular prizes a number of special prizes and grants were awarded:
* for the best score (Absolute winner)
   Lu Ying              (China)
* for the best solution to the first theoretical problem:
   Song Junliang           (China)
* for the best solution to the second theoretical problem:
   Christoph Keller          (Switzerland)
* for the best solution to the theoretical problem # 3:
   Lu Ying               (China)
* for the best solution to the first experimental problem:
   Stefan Pauliuk           (Germany)
* for the best solution to the second experimental problem:
   Xiao Jing               (China)
   Kuang-Ting Chen          (Taiwan)
* for the best participant from the countries which joined the IPhO in 2000 (Prize of the President of the IPhOs):
   Ashot Harutyunyan         (Armenia)

4. The International Board has accepted (by majority of votes) one new regulation formulated by the Dutch delegation (Dr. Hans Jordens and Mr. Gert Munters) and disseminated to all the delegations by the Secretariat of the IPhOs three months prior to the competition:
   Regulation to the # 7
   During the meeting of the graders where the final and most detailed version of the grading scheme is set, 3 members of the International Board will be present. They have the right to give advice to the group of graders in order to keep the grading scheme within the tradition of the IPhOs.

5. The problem the system of awarding prizes and honourable mentions was discussed. The International Board has decided to change it by expressing the numbers of medals and honourable mention in percents with respect to the total number of student present at a given competition. A concrete proposal will be formulated by Dr. Cyril Isenberg and disseminated by the Secretariat of the IPhOs.
6. At the last session of the International Board Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski, acting on behalf of all the participants expressed deep thanks to Dr. Cyril Isenberg and his collaborators. Additionally he informed that the Secretariat of the IPhOs has decided to award special diplomas to the organisers of the XXXI IPhO for very good preparation and very good execution of the competition. For technical reasons the diplomas will be sent later by the post.

7. President of the IPhOs presented a list of the organisers of the competition in the future. Due to applications submitted by Switzerland and Portugal continuity of organising the IPhOs is ensured until 2018 (inc.)

8. Dr. Hans Jordens informed the International Board about present situation in the World Federation of Physics Competition and asked PT Members of the IB for submitting articles to the journal published by the Federation.

9. Prof. Maija Ahtee informed the International Board about a new Olympic home page:
We remind that the Olympic information may be found also in the Olympic ftp site:
(subdirectory pub/competitions/ipho).

10. At the closing ceremony the ICPE Medal for Physics Teaching awarded to IPhO in 1993 was transferred from the organisers of the XXXII IPhO to the representatives of Turkey, the host of the next Olympiad.

11. Acting on behalf of the organisers of the next International Physics Olympiad Prof.. Ibrahim Gunal announced that the XXXII International Physics Olympiad would be organised in Antalya (Turkey) June 28th – July 6th, 2001 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition.


Dr. Cyril Isenberg
Executive Secretary of the 31st IPhO

Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski
President of the IPhOs

Prof. Maija Ahtee
Secretary of the IPhOs


Leicester, 15. 07. 2000


<< Back Minutes List