Last Olympiad
Next Olympiad
Past and Future Organizers
Past Presidents and Secretaries
IPhO History
Memorial to Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski (1937-2007)
Problems and Solutions

<< Back Minutes List


The sessions of the International Board held during the XXIX International Physics Olympiad in Reykjavik
(July 2 - July 10, 1998)


  1. Immediately before the XXIX IPhO (on July 1st) there was a meeting of the Advisory Committee. Conclusions of this meeting are enclosed to these Minutes as Appendix 1.

  2. The following 56 countries were present at the 27th.International Physics Olympiad:

    Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechlands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Korea, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam and Yugoslavia (Serbia/Montenegro).

    Three counties (Albania, Liechtenstein and Mongolia) were represented by observers.
    In addition to the regular participants an observer from the European Physical Society (Prof. George Marx) was present.

  3. At a special meeting of the International Board Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski was unanimously reelected to the post of the President of the IPhOs for five years. Also certain problems on the Statutes were discussed Conclusions of this meeting are enclosed to these Minutes as Appendix 2.

  4. The results of marking the papers by the organizers were presented:
    The best score (47.5 points) was achieved by Yuao Chen from China (Absolute Winner of the XXIX? IPhO). The following limits for awarding the medals were established according to the Statutes:
    Gold Medal 


    Silver Medal 

    36 points

    Bronze Medal 

    30 points

    Honourable Mention

    23 points

    According to these limits 11 Gold Medals, 15 Silver Medals, 43 Bronze Medals and 55 Honorable Mentions were awarded. The list of all scores was distributed to the delegations.? The final results were distributed to all the delegations before the closing ceremony. (Only the scores of prize winners and the students awarded honorable mentions are to be made public.)
  1. In addition to the regular prizes a number of special prizes was awarded:
  • for the best score (Absolute Winner):
    Yuao Chen (China)
  • for the best result in experimental competition:
    Yuao Chen (China)
  • for the best result in theoretical competition:
    Zhifeng Deng (China)
  • for the best solution to the theoretical problem no. 1:
    Xiaofeng Li(China)
  • for the best solution to the theoretical problem no. 2:
    Bhat Vijaj (India)
  • for the best solution to the theoretical problem no. 3:
    Abanine Dmitri (Russia)
  • for the best solution to the part I of the experimental problem:
    Ilia Baryguine (Russia)
  • for the best solution to the part II of the experimental problem:
    Zhifeng Deng (China)
  • for the youngest participant:
    Tchelidze Lali (Georgia)
  • for the best female participant:
    Yuan Liu (China)
  • for the second best female participant:
    Karen Ho (Australia)
  • for the third best female participant:
    Lisa Carlivati (USA)
  • for the best balance between theory and experiment (Prize of the European Society):
    Guha Saikat (India)
  • for the best participant from the countries which joined the IPhO in 1998 (Prize of the President of the IPhOs):
    Kumar Abhishek (India)
  • for the participants who were very close to win a regular honorable mention:
    Richard George     (Great Britain)
    Vidas Pazusis     (Lithuania)
    Fritz Menzer     (Switzerland)
    Lars Eriksson      (Sweden)
    Agostino Butti     (Italy)
    Filip Antic       (Yugoslavia)
    Jirawut Udomsrilap  (Thailand)
    Matuja Mazi     (Slovenia)
    Stanislav Krasny   (The Czechlands)
  1. At the closing ceremony, acting on behalf of all the participants, Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski, President of the IPhOs, awarded special diplomas to the organizers for very good preparation and very good execution of the XXIX International Physics Olympiad.

  2. At the closing ceremony the text associated with the ICPE Medal for Physics Teaching awarded to IPhO in 1993 was transferred from the organizers of the XXIX IPhO to the representative of Italy, the host of the next Olympiad. The Medal itself will be transferred later.

  3. The Italian delegation has announced on behalf of the organizers of the next International Physics Olympiad that the XXX International Physics Olympiad will be organized in Padova on July 18th - 27, 1999 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition.


Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski
President of the IPhOs

Prof. Thorsteinn I. Sigfusson
President of the Organizing Committee of the XXIX IPhO
Warsaw-Reykjavik, July 10, 1998


<< Back Minutes List